silver beavers.png

Honoring the 2021 Buckeye Council Silver Beaver Class

The Silver Beaver Award recognizes adult volunteers for exceptional service to Scouting at the council level. The Silver Beaver Award was introduced in 1931 and is a council‐level distinguished service award of the Boy Scouts of America. This is the highest honor that a volunteer leader can be presented at the council level. Recipients of this award are extraordinary individuals who have dedicated their lives and service to Scouting and their communities. 

Our Silver Beaver Celebration found below recognizes the entire class of this year's recipients, includes highlights about Scouting's impact on youth in the Buckeye Council, and pays tribute to each individual honoree. Additionally we invite you to explore and view the individual interviews with each recipient to learn about the legacy they have built through their self-sacrifice, dedication, and commitment to youth.




Meet the 2021 Silver Beaver Class


Claudia Barr, Sandy Beaver District


Claudia Barr has served as the Popcorn Kernel for the Sandy Beaver District’s annual popcorn campaign for the past 8 years. During that time she has helped units generate nearly a million dollars in sales to fuel their Scouting adventures. In addition to her continued service as the District Popcorn Kernel, she is the Committee Chair for Scouts, BSA girl Troop 150, a member of the District Committee, and a Merit Badge Counselor. She has previously served in Den Leader and Committee Member roles for Pack and boy Troop 150. Claudia is a member of the Order of the Arrow, has earned her Wood Badge beads, is a recipient of the District Award of Merit, and is a 5th year Pipestone holder. Her son Christopher earned his Eagle Award in 2020 and her daughter Kaela earned her Eagle Award in 2022.

my pic_edited.jpg

John Harriman, Hetuck District


John Harriman earned both his Eagle Scout Award and Fifth Year Pipestone in 1967. He has gone on to serve in numerous positions as an adult leader as a Committee Chair, Committee Member, Assistant Scoutmaster, and Scoutmaster of Troop 921. He also served as Camping Chair and Scout-O-Rama Chair. John has earned his Wood Badge beads, Scouter’s Training Award, and is a Brotherhood member in the Order of the Arrow. Today he actively serves as a Busy Beaver member providing service to Seven Ranges and as a member of the properties committee. In his community, John has served as a member of the Ohio Governor Taft’s Commission on Teaching Success and Northwest Local Schools Superintendent’s Advisory Board. He is a past president of the Northwest Band Boosters and chair of the Citizens for Northwest Schools.

Screenshot 2022-07-25 200441_edited.jpg

Chuck Hoover, Hetuck District


Chuck Hoover was a Scout in Pack and Troop 4 in Canton where he earned his Eagle Scout Award in 1983. He currently serves as a Committee Member for Troop 12 in North Canton where his son earned his Eagle Scout Award. Chuck has also served as a District Committee Member and Merit Badge Counselor. Additionally, for many years he has given leadership as a member of the Philmont Scout Ranch Committee.


Chuck is an active volunteer with his church and recently completed a mission trip in Eastern Europe. He remains an active advocate for youth and faith-based organizations in the community.


Doug Park, Harding Area District


Doug Park has been an active leader at all levels in the Harding Area District for many years. Currently Doug serves as the District Commissioner, Cubmaster for Pack 6046, Scoutmaster for Boy Troop 6046, and Committee Member for Girl Troop 6950, all in Marion. He has also served as Day Camp Director for the District, a Den Leader, and a Committee Chair. His son Carter earned his Eagle Award in 2021 and his daughter Chloe is currently pursuing hers.


In his community, Doug has been a baseball and basketball coach for many years. He is active with his church as a long-time member of Saint Mary’s and Sacred Heart Catholic churches where he has also served as a Sunday School teacher.


Victor Perez, Johnny Appleseed Trail District


Victor Perez has served as an Assistant Den Leader, Den Leader and Assistant Scoutmaster.  He is currently Cubmaster of Pack 7502 and was recognized as Cubmaster of the year in 2021 by the Johnny Appleseed Trail District. He is a member of the Order of the Arrow and received his Brotherhood in 2014.  He has served on numerous training staffs including Wood Badge and Scoutmaster training and he was awarded the District Award of Merit in 2014. In his community, Victor is active with the Ashland Bar Association, serving as President, Marine Corps League, American Legion, and the Elks.  He is a mentor to several people in and out of his career and Scouting.  He is also a past referee for soccer in the United States Soccer Federation and the Ohio High School Athletic Association.


Bill Robinson, Sandy Beaver District


Bill has been an active Scout since he was just 8 years old. He has served on the council properties committee, as Scoutmaster and Committee Member for Troop 177, and as Advisor for Crew 177.  Bill has earned the Venturing training award and has participated in countless training courses. He currently serves as a Unit Commissioner in the Sandy Beaver district and is the VOA Chair for the council. Bill has also worked each year to plan an annual disaster drill, serving scouts in the Alliance and surrounding areas, where Scouts learn first aid and other scout skills revolving around a central theme. Bill’s daughter Mikayla has received the Summit Award and his son Matthew has received the Summit and the Eagle Scout Award, both firsts in the Buckeye Council. Bill is always a promoter of scouting. Whether partnering with local businesses, local officials, and local media for the annual disaster drill, Bill works hard to build Scouting within his community.


Doug Woodhall, Hetuck District


Doug Woodhall was active in Scouting as a Cub Scout and Boy Scout in Minnesota where he grew up. While in college he served as Scoutmaster for a troop chartered to a school for the blind. For many years he has served on the Buckeye Council Board of Directors, as a member of the Sportsmen’s Classic Shooting Event committee, and on the Council Marksmanship and Safety committee. He is dedicated to connecting community resources to advance Scouting’s mission for youth. Doug is active his community serving as the President of Sportsmen’s Shooting Center in Louisville.

Support Scouting by sponsoring the Silver Beaver Class